A Beginning

I heard about a new thing the other day, a concept that wowed me so much I had to run out and make it immediately. Basically, it is fruit preserved in sugar and rum, but with a twist: you layer each fruit in a crock as it comes into season and is at the height of ripeness. An incredibly simple idea, but brilliant. The entire process takes about 6 months, starting with the berries of early Summer and ending with the apples and pears of Autumn (tropical fruits are optional). An additional 6 weeks of sitting is necessary after the last addition, so the entire melange is generally completed sometime in December.

Luckily, I heard about this while strawberries are still in season, though just barely. Yesterday I ran out and bought a 1 gallon glass crock with a lid, then went over to the farmer’s market for berries. Never mind that I don’t have the recommended cool, dark cellar in which to allow the crock to sit – I intend to ask around and hope that I find a tiny plot of basement floor that someone is willing to let my crock squat on in exchange for some boozy fruit and fruity cordial come winter. The name of this extravaganza is Rumtopf, or rum pot in German.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Beginning

  1. MARLENE says:

    thanks, Sonya. love your posts. i’m going to do the rhubarb/blueberry dessert. keep it up.
    the photos matter & are imnportant motivators for me. i love to cook & try new recipes if they’re not too hard.

    • sonya says:

      Marlene, the crisp is both amazingly delicious (it really brings out the flavor of whatever fruit you are using) and very simple. Enjoy!

  2. the recipes sound great, and the fotos are total sex.

  3. You can leave your crock in our dark basement anytime. Maybe it will get you up to visit. Sorry to have been so out of touch.
    Love,
    Marnie

    • sonya says:

      Thanks, Marnie, I’ve found a dark basement a little bit closer to home, but I’d still love to come visit!

  4. Jason says:

    This is such a cool idea! I might have to try this next year and I’ve got a surplus of cool basement.

    • sonya says:

      Jason, you should! You could even start one this year – still plenty of time for peaches, plums, nectarines, probably apricots, apples, etc…I got a glass crock with a lid at the Container Store.

Leave a Reply

