Slow, Slow Tomatoes

Egad. Twelve days gone by since my last post, just like that. My oh my, where does the time go? In an attempt to catch up, allow me to bring you in a veritable flash, quick as can be, some slow, slow roasted tomatoes that I made recently.

These were some lovely Romas I had from my CSA – late, end of the season tomatoes that made me realize these were likely some of the last I’d see until next summer. As it had finally cooled off enough to entertain the notion of turning on the oven, I decided to slow roast them in an effort to make them last a bit longer. Cut in half, a drop of olive oil, a little salt and pepper and into a slow oven (225F or so). I checked in on them after a couple of hours, but they still seemed to be quite plump, so I let them roast on. Another hour and I figured they could still stand the heat. They wound up being in the oven for close on 5 hours. Then out they came, wrinkled and quite dried, red and crinkly.
And then into an empty jar and topped off with olive oil. Into the fridge. Not sure how long they will last, though I expect they’ll be eaten before it gets to that point. Essence of tomato, a bite of summer. It’s as though they had been sitting for a good long while under that setting western sun outside my window.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slow, Slow Tomatoes

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    Great idea. did you know you can make pesto with them? We love it on pizza.

  2. Charlie Berg says:

    Garlic in the preservative oil as well???

  3. Pingback: Tomato in October | eat+art+word

Leave a Reply

