kick start: asparagus!

I decided today to take on the challenge of National Blog Posting Month for the month of May. NaBloPoMo is a website that hosts a monthly blog challenge: each participant posts to their blog every single day for a month. Every month has a different theme, with this month’s being Maybe. So even though today is the 2nd of May (meaning I missed the first day), and nearly 11pm at that, I will jump right in with a daily post (and quickly, at that). Pertaining to maybe. Or, maybe not.

Inspired by Mark Bittman’s Asparagus Flow Chart (I love all those charts and top 100 lists he makes) in yesterday’s Sunday NY Times Magazine, I got a bundle of spargel at the farmer’s market yesterday and figured I could cook them up a couple different ways (it was a big bundle). First asparagus of the year. I decided on the roasting option, something I don’t think I’ve ever done before. A little oil and salt, into an oven-proof skillet, into a pretty hot oven and roast-o-rama.

Really fragrant aromas starting wafting out of the oven. I cracked an egg into a tiny pot of salted, boiling water and let it poach. Badly. Well, perhaps not badly, but certainly not wonderfully. I need to work on the egg poaching. But scooping it out of its bath (I overcooked it a bit), I set it down on a plate next to said roasted asparagus spears over which I’d put a few slivers of a raw cows’ milk cheese. No maybes about it.

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to kick start: asparagus!

  1. john doherty says:

    Good luck with the challenge and who doesn’t LOVE asparagus? steam, grilled , fried … so many options !!

  2. Gabrielle says:

    That overcooked egg is so photogenic! But for an egg that holds its shape, you can try a half teaspoon or so of white vinegar.

    Good luck with the challenge. Looking forward to the postings.

Leave a Reply

