More Thinking about Photos. And Food.

 I just finished the final day of the 3-day food and photography workshop (which I wrote about here) taught by Penny De Los Santos through  Creative Live. That’s her above, as seen in a photo I made through my computer screen via a live stream on the internet. (She’s shooting a chef in action in a food truck during the workshop in Seattle.) I watched along with untold 1,000’s of others who were watching from around the world. I never imagined this kind of experience could have as much impact as it did. Yet, I walk away from it after three days being hugely impacted – with so many different things to think about in terms of looking, seeing, approaching and more. Thanks, Penny.

I didn’t have time for much else over the past few days, hence the big pile of dirty dishes in the sink and the lack of cooking around here. I did rush out to the farmer’s market this morning and came back with these tidbits to sustain me during today’s workshop session. A mix of little lettuce leaves + sour sorrel and an ash-covered goat cheese called Bigelo (note: not a typo Lyn, there’s no “w” at the end) from Ardith Mae, a goat farm in Pennsylvania that I’ll mention in more detail sometime soon. Meanwhile, it is 11:23pm (er, make that 11:24pm, tick.tick.tick) and I need to stop writing and click “publish” in order to make my midnight deadline (I’m still in the midst of the daily blog challenge during the month of May).

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized, vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Thinking about Photos. And Food.

  1. amanda says:

    that photo of the cheese and knife is sublime, sonya!

  2. Di says:

    I am seriously in love with the Ardith Mae goats. Have you tried the Chevre? Sublime, in that grassy ethereal way one wants a soft goat cheese to be

    • sonya says:

      Diane, I know, goats rule! No, haven’t tried their chevre yet – I always get side tracked by their other cheeses, all of which are sublime. Next time!

Leave a Reply

