Savory Oatmeal with an Egg

It’s a melancholy day. For one thing, the knowledge that the clocks will get turned back tonight leaves me feeling bleak, as it always does. I dread this day every year, hate the early darkness that follows. This morning was chilly with a clear, bright sky and I went straight to my computer attempting, as I have been for the past week-and-a-half, to write one particular blog post. It’s a tricky one – I can’t quite figure out how to say the things I want to say, show the things I want to show. Yet something must be posted today, and while I did make some progress on the tricky one, in the end I decided to talk about something entirely different today. Breakfast.

After sitting here for a couple of hours racking my brain with a cup of black coffee (out of milk – oof) as my sole sustenance, I was suddenly starving. Starving and craving a very specific breakfast: polenta with butter and a poached egg. But the 45 minutes required to cook polenta was an unacceptable waiting time, and as I stood in the kitchen wondering what to do, my eyes fell upon a bag of rolled oats. Stubborn as I am, I couldn’t give up the idea of the flavours and textures I was hankering for. So I decided to cook the oatmeal as a savory dish – adding salt, pepper and butter and then towards the end a bit of grated parmesan cheese. When it was almost cooked, I cracked an egg into the pot and left it, covered, for a few minutes until the egg was poached (or rather, steamed?). It was everything I’d been craving – grainy, savory, buttery, a little salty all mixed with eggy goodness. A nice discovery on a bright day that’ll soon be dark.

 

Savory Oatmeal with an Egg

serves 1, multiply quantities for each additional serving

〭 1/2 cup rolled oats (not quick cooking)

〭 1 1/4 cups water

〭 salt + pepper

〭 1 Tablespoon of grated parmesan cheese

〭 1/2 Tablespoon butter

〭 1 egg, room temperature

Combine oatmeal and water in a heavy saucepan. Add salt, pepper and butter and stir. Bring to a boil, lower heat and cover. Cook until most of the water is gone and oats are almost cooked, about 10 minutes. Add parmesan cheese and stir. Crack egg into the pan and cover. Check after 3 minutes – if egg white is still runny continue to cook, covered, for another minute. When done, carefully spoon oatmeal with egg on top into a serving bowl. Sprinkle a bit of sea salt over egg. Eat.

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Savory Oatmeal with an Egg

  1. MJ says:

    Oh, I love savory oatmeal! I like to add a little soy sauce and chopped scallion with the egg for a bit of Asian-inspired goodness.

  2. Angel says:

    I also dislike this time of year when it gets dark early, although I do enjoy the winter snow since I am a December baby. I would love to try your recipe but I am often up early and don’t have time to make breakfast before going to work. But I will make time soon.

    Angel

    • sonya says:

      Angel, I enjoy snow too, definitely an upside of this time of year. The oatmeal would also be very nice for lunch, I think.

  3. Gretchen says:

    Savory oatmeal is one of my favorite breakfasts. I make mine in a small crockpot overnight and then put it in a small Thermos to take to work. I usually add a little Stilton cheese, EVOO, sea salt, and cracked pepper. It keeps me full for hours.

    • sonya says:

      Gretchen, It’s become a new favorite of mine as well and your version sounds delicious. Great idea about using the crockpot – I hear only great things about them, but I’ve yet to try one. It would certainly change the morning routine for the better. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. susanklement says:

    Oh, I am with you on hating the early darkness. I have already been feeling that it gets dark too early, and now it will be even worse. Ugh.

    • sonya says:

      Susan, At least it was a sunny day here, so the early nightfall didn’t seem quite so extreme. Here’s hoping for a quick return of the light! Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

