Farm Camp: part 1, the chicken

I killed this chicken.

Then I ate it.

I’ve been twisted up in a knot about how to tell this story. I do not want to be gratuitous in my description of the event. Nor do I want to gloss over the reality of it. I tend to be an  empathic person – it’s something that runs deep and strong in me, and it sometimes acts as a detriment for it leads to seeing – and believing in – many sides of an issue, which can lead to confusion. It can sometimes feel like being inside of a kaleidoscope. Thus, in no particular order, I appreciate: the act of eating meat; of being a vegan; or a vegetarian; of killing for food; of protecting animals. I respect all of those ideals, and I realize that combined they illustrate a truism: that humans are omnivores. We can either eat meat or refrain from eating meat and either way we will survive. We are built to exist either way.

I eat poultry – roast chicken, duck soup, turkey bolognese. I have always been of the belief that I should be able to kill the thing I am willing to eat. And further, that if I was ever presented with such an opportunity I would have to take it. No choice. Such was the case two weeks ago when I went to Farm Camp at Flying Pigs Farm in Shushan, NY. The 2-day curriculum included visiting many local farms in an effort to gain a deeper understanding of the realities of small-scale, local agriculture. One of the farm stops was a poultry farm and processing facility. There, we would each slaughter and eviscerate a chicken.

To be continued tomorrow.

This entry was posted in farming, food, politics of food, poultry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Farm Camp: part 1, the chicken

  1. Dorothy says:

    When I was in fifth grade, I had the opportunity to make calamari from fresh squid. And I will be completely honest, I have never, ever, been able to eat squid again.

    I’m not sure what that makes me? But I admire you for being able to do this, I know I couldn’t!

    • sonya says:

      Dorothy, Wow that’s an unusual 5th grade experience. You must have grown up near a fishing community, I imagine. I don’t think it necessarily defines you as anything in particular, the fact that you don’t eat squid – maybe you just don’t like it. But who knows, it’s all rather complex I think. Thanks for your comment! I will continue to write about my experience over the next few days.

  2. amanda says:

    i know just what you mean, sonya, about the confusion of all those kaleidoscopic feelings and impulses [i have a similar orientation to food] and i respect your decision to kill what you will eat. i’m looking forward to the sequel.

  3. Pingback: Farm Camp: part 2, killing a chicken | eat+art+word

Leave a Reply

