Day 30: 2 soups + 1 carrot

Hello from Day 30. If you’ve been a regular visitor in November, thanks for tuning in during this month-long extravaganza of posting every day. It’s been really great to create a post on a daily basis, and I’m hoping to bottle the energy I’ve mustered during November to maintain a more regular posting schedule (ahem). I suppose I really ought to make myself some kind of schedule…so, from now on I will regularly post (at least) twice per week – let’s say on Monday and Friday.

Above is the lentil + leek soup I talked about yesterday. It turned out nicely, a really hearty and satisfying soup (not too heavy) into which I squeezed a little lime juice just before serving. Sorry, no recipe for it today, just a picture. But I do have another soup recipe to share. I am very excited to have had my first piece of food writing published today! It is a remembrance I wrote, in collaboration with my mother, about the Beef Noodle Soup (photo below) that my great-grandmother and grandmother both made regularly for Friday night Shabbos meals. It was posted on The Jew and the Carrot today (the blog of The Jewish Daily Forward and Hazon) and you can read it here (the recipe is included – it’s a really nice soup, very simple to prepare and also very versatile.).

This entry was posted in food, food memory and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 30: 2 soups + 1 carrot

  1. john doherty says:

    Congratulations Sonya Love your blog and I can see lots of success with your writing !!

  2. Tiffanie says:

    Congratulations! I’ll be checking back in, now that November is over. Nice work!

    • sonya says:

      Thanks, Tiffanie! You too, nice work in November. Glad to have ‘met’ you and I’ll definitely be checking in over at your blog, too.

Leave a Reply

