poaching an egg

My mother recently showed me how very easy it is to poach an egg. No whirlpools or saucers or gadgets. Fill a small pot about 3/4 with water, add 1 teaspoon white vinegar, bring to a boil, crack an egg into the water, cook for 3 or so minutes, remove with a slotted spoon and allow water to drain off, sprinkle with salt (optional), place on a slice of toast (also optional) and EAT.

This entry was posted in breakfast, food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to poaching an egg

  1. Suzanne says:

    A poached egg on toast is just about my favorite comfort food ever. We just got a new computer, so I’d best not lick your glorious photos even though I want to. I never thought I would ever find myself in a position to say this, but that last photo of your poached egg is breathtaking.

    • sonya says:

      Suzanne, I am incredibly flattered, thank you thank you for your kind words! Glad you didn’t lick your new computer screen – probably a better (and tastier) idea to head into the kitchen to make a real egg.

  2. Hey, that’s just what MY breakfast looks like. I love that rye toast. I use the Mark Bittman method of cracking the egg into a bowl and then sliding the egg from the bowl into the water– it seems to float more that way and doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.

    • sonya says:

      I’ve never had great luck using that method – I guess it’s an individual thing, with different methods working for different people. Bottom line, though, is finding a technique that works in order to poach some lovely eggs! Yum.

  3. Michelle Chiafulio says:

    I’m so glad you posted this— mike’s 40th birthday is Sunday and I want to make eggs Benedict but I was going to have to look up how to poach an egg— whew! You saved me!!!

  4. rossjude says:

    for Michelle: if you are doing a bunch of them, just make sure your pot is large enough so they don’t mush into each other, and maybe space them out a bit, that is: don’t crack all the eggs at once. Have a nice birthday brunch….

  5. Evan Read says:

    Looks nice and easy. I’m curious, what role does the vinegar serve?

    • sonya says:

      Evan, Yup it’s fairly easy. The acidity of the vinegar helps coagulate the egg white and allows the egg to keep a nice shape (i.e. not fall apart in the water). Best to use just a little bit, though, otherwise you’ll taste it.

  6. Pingback: Follow-up Notes on Eggs & Ordering Oranges | eat+art+word

  7. Linda Ganjian says:

    I want to try this; I’m getting a little sick of the usual way of preparing eggs (over-well)! thanks, Sonya.

    • sonya says:

      Linda, I know what you mean, it’s always nice to try a new way of preparing something! If you try poaching, let me know how you like it.

  8. Tiffanie says:

    This looks great! My daughter was asking for a soft boiled egg with buttered toast strips for breakfast recently and I said “no” because I am terrible at soft boiling eggs (new post, hint hint).
    I am going to give poached eggs a whirl in the morning. She’ll still be able to dip, and maybe I can pull this off!

  9. Pingback: Eating Eggs Out | eat+art+word

Leave a Reply

