Sardines

 

I made a meal today using only things that were in the house – a pantry dinner. Rifling through said panty – whose shelves are deep and stacked many layers deep – I knew there was bound to be a can (if not 2 or 10) of sardines. Sardines are great: tasty, convenient (when in a tin), cheap and one of the types of fish that is consistently on all the lists of “good” fish to eat, being neither over-fished nor filled with horrible pollutants. Much as I adore sardines, to my mind they require certain accompaniments: Something acidic (to balance their rich oiliness), something bright tasting (by which I guess I mean something of a fresh and vegetal nature, also to offset the rich oiliness), something crunchy (to offset the soft texture) and something starchy and neutral (to offset everything else). I usually like olives or pickles to take care of the acidic element, but as I had neither in the fridge – and since I was bound by what I had on hand – I set about making an astringent salad of celery root and apple. It was a riff on a recipe I saw today while leafing through Neue Cuisine, a cookbook by Austrian chef Kurt Gutenbrunner. Seemed a perfect way to prepare some of the cute little celery roots I had that were waiting to be used.

I did not par-boil them as his recipe said, but rather left them raw and let them sit in lemon juice for a few minutes to soften up a bit. Turns out it’s a winning combination, celery and apple. And with the addition of scallion and parley, it covered all the necessary bases as a perfect foil to sardines – crunchy, acidic and bright as a daisy. That, along with some steamed potatoes in their jacket with salt and parsley (the neutral element), and all was good.

Note: Quantities are variable, though I used fairly equal amounts of celery root and apple and the balance of textures was lovely.

Celery Root & Apple Salad (adapted from a recipe in Neue Cuisine) 2-3 servings

2 small celery root, peeled and diced small

juice of 1 small lemon

1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar

3 scallions, chopped fine

handful of flat parsley, chopped fine

salt and pepper to taste

1 apple, diced small (with peel, if desired)

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Put diced celery root in a small bowl and add lemon juice and vinegar, toss to coat well. Let sit 10 minutes or more. Add remaining ingredients and toss well. Eat (sardines are optional).

This entry was posted in fish, food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sardines

  1. amanda says:

    yum. sardines rock! and that recipe looks to be just the counterpoint, as you say.

    • sonya says:

      i figured i could count on you to be a sardine lover, amanda! yup, the celery root salad is growing on me more + more, it’s kinda perfect.

  2. Tiffanie says:

    You had me at “sardine”, but the rest makes an amazing looking meal! I would love more full on, simple recipes from you, Sonya!

    I was hoping you caught this post the other day, I think it’s right up your alley! :)

    http://bloggingcornerblog.blogspot.com/2012/01/simplest-dinner.html

    • sonya says:

      Tiffanie, Thanks. Ok, I’ll try to post more recipes! I did read your pepper post the other day – it was lovely and appetizing and the meal sounded amazing! I just left you a comment (I hadn’t commented before b/c I don’t care for peppers. But I realized I still loved *reading* about it!)

Leave a Reply

