Cake for Dr. King

 

I had wanted to mark the day – the holiday celebrating Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday – with something food-related. I heard that one of his favorites was pecan pie, but as much as I enjoy it, I just couldn’t come up with one today.

I also read that he enjoyed all manner of soul food, including sweet potatoes. Then I remembered! Last year I fell upon a nice little spicy cake made with fresh sweet potatoes and I wrote about it here (recipe included!), on the Edible Queens Blog.

If you decide to make it, which would surely be a good idea, please leave me a comment and let me know how you like it! Hoping you had a nice holiday weekend – and perhaps gave a moment’s pause to reflect on Dr. King’s voice.

This entry was posted in baking, food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cake for Dr. King

  1. Hi Sonya,
    Interesting. For the last couple days I have been experimenting with Kabocha squash. It’s my favorite carb. I’m making a recipe book and have been testing out kabocha squash cinnamon muffins. And today I made 2 different versions that I’m sending to people to try out. I feel great knowing that I payed tribute to Dr. King with my own version of sweet potatoes in a good for you healthy muffin. Let me know if you’d like me to send the recipe. I’d love your feedback.
    Hope all is well.
    DebbyK!

    • sonya says:

      DebbyK, Your kabocha experiments sound wonderful. Sure, please send it to me – I’d love to try out you muffin recipe!

  2. tracy says:

    sonya this looks delish!
    ahhh MLK – i just learned yesterday , that his ‘i have a dream’ speech was a spontaneous moment he threw in at the end of his ‘planned ‘ speech – by the urging of his friend Mahalia Jackson – whom he had told these thoughts to and who was standing behind him on the podium whispering ‘say your dream stuff….say your dream stuff’.
    wow!

  3. rossjude says:

    I just heard that almost the same words were in his 1964 speech in Boston, with the humungous march of thousands…. I didn’t remember the speech, but the march I remember well.

Leave a Reply

