Why do you cook?

 

 

Why do you cook? To eat? To stand? To chop? To think? To heat? To share? To save?

 

Conversely, why do you NOT cook?

Let me know, I’d like to hear your reasons!

This entry was posted in food, photography, vegetable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why do you cook?

  1. geet2go says:

    The question that I’m thinking about right now is the other side of this story – why do you eat? I guess it’s the not-so-obvious ones that are really interesting (I’m gathering perspectives on my blog, here http://thisishowieat.com. Me, I cook because I find it relaxing, and I enjoy it as a way to connect with my food and experience the entire meal, not just the consumption part.
    Okay, so I answered your question. Now your turn to answer mine! :)

  2. Stephen says:

    I think the four main things I love about cooking are chopping onions/garlic, caramelizing vegetables, timing things out, and watching things rise in the oven.

  3. rossjude says:

    I cook because I am your mother and that’s what we do – you cook, I cook, your father cooks, your brother cooks. Also because I love good food, Also because it is relaxing and I want to control what I eat and my food is better than what I can get for take-out, or at most restaurants.

  4. I cook for pleasure, I cook to eat. I cook to give myself a new recipe when I am alone, in order to feel elegant. I cook for health, so I know what is in it. I cook to entertain, but that is more rare than cooking to share with my husband. I cook especially to share. Thankfully, he cooks too, as does our son.
    Sometimes I just hate cooking too, when it feels I have to do it, when I am tired. So I try to cook something extra so there is always a tasty leftover if I feel that way.

    • sonya says:

      Marnie, a cooking family is a nice thing. I like your notion of cooking something extra so there is always a leftover – I do the same thing!

  5. I cook because it makes me happy. It likely has something to do with Nana Ida, who played an important role in my life. Food = love. I especially love to cook food that I’ve grown myself.

    Your parents have influenced my cooking as well.

    I learned to cook in self-defense. My mother could not boil water.

  6. Tania says:

    I haven’t cooked much in my 43 years…once a week as an adult at the very most. I was your typical yuppie, work 60 hrs a week, then take out from some lovely bistro on the way home. When I did have spare time, a lack of planning or a feeling of there were so many other things I could be doing (productive procrastination) got in the way. But…I’m trying to change my ways, following blogs like yours are helping. I have never had a stronger desire than I do now to learn and grow in the kitchen with locally grown veggies and other delicious fresh ingredients. My waistline has suffered since moving to Maui (gained 35 lbs in 1 & 1/2 yrs or ~30% of my starting weight). The takeout is not as healthy in a non urban environment and I have a boyfriend who eats doritos and ice cream, which I can resist buying but resisting eating when it’s in my fridge or cupboard is a whole other challenge. I resolved this week to being prepping the best tasting healthy food, I’m four days in and four pounds lighter (likely water loss from not being pumped up with sodium). Keep the photos and inspiration coming please!

    • sonya says:

      Tania, your new cooking/eating plan sounds marvelous. You must have so much incredible local produce in Maui (well, at least it seems exotic to me being in NYC), which is a wonderful starting point. I’m glad if my blog is inspiring your quest to cook. (BTW, one helpful tip, which Marnie mentioned in an earlier comment, is to cook more than you’ll need for that meal so you’ll something leftover that you can eat the next day – either to bring to work for lunch, or to incorporate into dinner [or even to freeze for later use]. Great when you don’t have a lot of time, or are just tired and can’t bear the thought of standing in the kitchen).
      Good luck and keep me posted on how it’s going!

  7. Tiffanie says:

    To be totally honest, I now cook because I know I’m good at it and it’s a good way to show my love to my family and also to impress my friends. I cook for my EGO! :)

Leave a Reply

