July?!

Early. It is one thing to repeatedly hear about this season’s warm weather and early crops. It is another thing entirely to arrive at the farmers’ market early in the morning on July 1st and discover peaches.

Peaches! Fragrant, fuzzy, drippy yellow peaches. They’re here. Happy day.

This entry was posted in food, fruit, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to July?!

  1. john doherty says:

    Just a reminder, with some early summer crops and longer hot July days watch your gardens.. Easy to loose product in a day

  2. Gaby says:

    July 1 and I have picked almost 4 quarts of raspberries. Normally my crop slowly begins on July 4th and the whole thing is no more than 2 quarts. The warm winter changed everything.

  3. consolata says:

    Dear Sonja
    even if this is not direct connected to peaches.. I was thinking of you… as 1 year ago you were with us.. and when I was preparing a lof ot simple but tasty food for heiko’s birthday (oven tomatoes with basilic and garlic as my grandma used to make them for example) I thought of your blog.. which is really reminding me how important for me it is to cook and how lucky we are to have so many vegetables in summer… thank you for reminding me this with your work…
    baci baci e stai bene!!!

    • sonya says:

      Consolata! Wonderful to hear from you! I can’t believe it has been 1 year since we were there. Your birthday cooking sounds divine – happy birthday to Heiko. I will write you a longer email very soon. Hope everyone is well.
      xo s.

Leave a Reply

