Cooking up a Storm

Heeding the advice of a chef friend, I cooked up a pot of rice and boiled some eggs this morning.  She had said that’s what she would do if she was preparing for the coming storm, Hurricane Sandy. So I did. Seemed like a wise idea considering they’d provide tasty nourishment during a crisis, as well as being non-perishable.

I then spent about an hour trekking around looking for a battery operated radio. Most stores were already shuttered, but I looped through the neighborhood hitting blocks where I thought I might find one. The streets were mostly empty of cars and people – it was a bit windy, raining lightly, and there was that eerie pre-storm calm in the air. I found the corner deli closed up as tight as a drum, with an upside down trash can sitting in front (a preventive measure against flying objects); the hardware store also shuttered tight, and I noticed the “A” from the “H_RDWARE” sign had blown off the facade of the building and was sitting on the wet sidewalk below; lots of leaves were strewn across the street; and a lone mailman, steadfastly rolling his mail cart down the block as his raincoat billowed sideways.

My quest for a radio finally ended when I came upon this little cutie at a news stand. And I picked up an extra small flashlight, as well.

Finally, I whipped up a batch of my new favorite thing – this corn bread recipe from the Lee Bros (I found it here on Cookstr, though it comes from their first cookbook, The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook: Stories and Recipes for Southerners and Would-be Southerners. It’s fantastic cornbread – moist and crumby on the inside, crispy edges on the outside. Not sweet, not cakey, a mouth full of corn. It’s made without any flour, so it’s naturally wheat-free (also gluten-free). But that’s not to say it isn’t rich – it is, as it’s made with buttermilk*, butter and an egg. It’s very, very quick – you can literally whip up a batch in under 30 minutes.

With that, I’m going to eat a bowl of lentil soup with rice, get my flashlights at the ready and hope the wild fury of Sandy spares everyone in her path the full force of her brute strength! If you’re in her path, hope you fare the storm safely and stay dry.

*If you don’t have buttermilk simply add 1.5 – 2 tablespoons of vinegar (preferable white vinegar) or lemon juice to milk, stir and let sit for a few minutes until it curdles.

This entry was posted in baking, food, photography, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cooking up a Storm

  1. john doherty says:

    What a productive and fun day Sonya !!

  2. Michelle Marozik says:

    Hey Sonya looks like you’re well stocked. Stay safe!

  3. Tiffanie says:

    What an experience, Sonya. I hope you are fairing well. I can’t believe you found a radio after everyone had cleared out. Rice and eggs as emergency food, good to know!

    • sonya says:

      Tiffanie, I’m fairing well, thanks – though many others in these parts are not! It’s crazy + sad. The tiny radio has not been called into action; I’d definitely categorize rice and hard-boiled eggs as comfort foods (in addition to being non-perishable).

  4. Tania says:

    I’m glad you’re ok! Thank you for sharing the corn bread link. I recently found out I’m allergic to wheat and I LOVE corn bread. My rice actually does spoil. I’ve been eating this jasmine rice and my boyfriend and I noticed it spoils much quicker than calrose Japanese or brown rice. So, as soon as the bag is gone, I’m switching back even though I love the smell of the jasmine when it’s cooking. The boiled eggs are very smart and I’ll add that to my hurricane/tsunami checklist. Hugs and again, so happy to hear you are fine.

    • sonya says:

      Tania! Goodness, I’m so sorry not to have replied to your last message. I was absent from this space for too long (all of November, as it turns out) and it slipped by me. Thanks for your concern. While my neighborhood was virtually unscathed, there are other areas in NYC that were really devastated and still reeling.
      You know, I realize that I discovered that corn bread recipe from Tiffanie’s blog and I’m not sure if I properly gave her credit :( It’s a wonderful recipe! I’m curious, how did you discover your wheat allergy? I have been avoiding it for awhile as eating it makes me feel lousy, but it’s unofficial.
      And one other question: when you say your rice spoils, do you mean after it’s been cooked?
      Cheers! Hope all is wonderful in Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

