Batons of Turnip (recipe)

Turnip Batons IV     Turnip Batons III

I use the word batons, but in actuality it was more like a bunch of irregular shapes that were a combination of triangular, rhomboidal and baton-like. It doesn’t seem quite right to use the term fries, but I suppose one could. Vocabulary aside, I am speaking about small, white geometric shapes that were transformed through the alchemy of heat, oil and tamari into golden bites of turnip with buttery-soft middles and crispy edges. They were sweet and salty and earthy, every bite filled with the aroma of garlic and ginger. I ate the whole lot on a small plate with a side of tomato ketchup. I’ve written up the recipe just as I made it, with the one remaining turnip from my CSA box that sat in the fridge.  Naturally, multiply as needed.

Turnip Batons II

Roasted Turnip Batons  1-2 servings

– 1 turnip, peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces

– 2 cloves of garlic  (or to taste), peeled and minced

– 1″ piece of ginger, peeled and minced

– freshly ground pepper

– splash of tamari or soy sauce (approximately 1-2 tablespoons)

– 1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1. Preheat oven to 350˚ F. Place turnip pieces, garlic, ginger and ground pepper in a baking dish.  Sprinkle tamari over all and toss. Add oil and toss again, coating everything.

2. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and toss everything with a large spoon. Return to oven for an additional 15 minutes, or until edges look crispy.

3. Eat hot.

Note: Camera phone fotos in use.

This entry was posted in CSA, food, food memory, recipe, vegetable and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Batons of Turnip (recipe)

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I’ve become amazingly fond of turnips!

  2. That Recipe says:

    I just remembered I have a lonely little turnip sitting in my fridge. I think I’ll whip this up tonight.

Leave a Reply

