Bean Pot

IMG_5734

Into this shiny brown, glazed bean pot, I placed two cups of soaked navy beans, along with a short list of ingredients supplied by Fannie Farmer (dry mustard and molasses being chief among them). The pot then sat in a medium oven for five hours while I toiled at my desk, all the while inhaling the magnificent aromas that were escaping from the kitchen.

IMG_5717IMG_5718

The resulting beans (fotos to come) may be my new favorite foodstuff – both in terms of preparation (so simple, such intoxicating smells), as well as to eat. More tomorrow.
IMG_5742

 

This entry was posted in beans, food, food memory, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bean Pot

  1. Winnie says:

    I love beans! I have never saw a bean pot before. Very cool! It reminds me of my brown betty teapot from England.

    • sonya says:

      Winnie, Yes it reminds me of a brown betty teapot as well. The bean pot is amazing – my first time using one and I’m sold on it! If you love beans, I suspect you’ll enjoy using one.

  2. Tiffanie says:

    Gosh, this is the third time in the last few months I’ve heard about Fannie Farmer, and now I know I need to get familiar! How her work and books never made it on my radar before is beyond me! I wonder if this recipe would work in a Dutch oven. xo

    • sonya says:

      Tiffanie,
      Fannie Farmer is a great all-purpose, American cookbook. Since I don’t have an intact copy of Joy of Cooking, I turn to it for things like this…and since she was from the Boston Cooking School, it was a no-brainer to use her recipe for Boston Baked Beans. I didn’t even do any research or compare recipes, like I usually do. Probably a dutch oven would work fine – 2 points about the bean pot are that it’s very thick ceramic and the lid is quite tight, so you may need to add liquid more frequently. Try it! I’ll send you recipe if you want. xo

Leave a Reply

